40 Days of Music – Day 3: Introductions

Back on the Rolling Stone list of the 40 greatest emo albums of all time, finds me introduced to a band I’ve seen around here, there, and everywhere, but never really sat down and listened to. They are the first band on the list to actually sound like an emo band, a throwback emo band that is. I’ve seen the name around because they’re fairly well known in the indie scene, and have had splits with Empire! Empire! (which I own) and Owen (which I listened to).

(Here’s the full list in case you missed it, http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/40-greatest-emo-albums-of-all-time-20160301/into-it-over-it-intersections-2013-20160225)

Number 38: Into It. Over It. – Intersections (2013)

As well as being the most recent release found on the list so far, it’s the most classically emo sounding record. It has angular, weaving guitar parts, odd time signatures changes, stop/starts, laid back, familiar vocals, and space to breathe. It’s impossible not to hear midwestern emo everywhere on this record. There’s a diverse range of types of song, not just slow and fast, loud and soft. There are nods to Death Cab for Cutie and Braid. There are songs with drums falling all over the place, resulting in chaos and fun, and then songs in which the instruments do very little, giving the vocals center stage. They don’t mind being quiet, letting the listener think (which can be dangerous, just ask every pop band ever). I haven’t listened to every line, but the lyrics I have caught have been really great as well. They provoke, they are challenging (which can be dangerous again).
“But wedlock made you settle, kept you running from the truth. A certain age defines uncertainty I never could explain. So does time create or move to make mistakes these days?” I’m on-board with this album from beginning to end. It’s solid throughout, and cohesive without being boring or repetitive.

“I’m always talking but I can’t articulate a thing.”

 

 

This is really why I decided to do the 40 Days of Music post. I knew there would be bands on the list I hadn’t given a proper chance to and would enjoy if I had. I have already found one, and it’s the first band I didn’t already know. Bands like this are also why I enjoy the list on Rolling Stone. This might not be the most well known album ever, and being so new, many people would hesitate to put it on a best ever list, but we don’t need to take things so seriously. Maybe the album won’t hold up in another 10 years, but who can predict that? It’s a great piece of art, and I appreciate having it pointed out to me.

40 Days of Music – Day 3: Introductions

Leave a Reply

