Recommend a Song

I listen to a lot of music, but I can still get hung up on things I already know I like. I don’t want to be complacent, I want to sample a little of everything, or as much as I can. I may not like it all and even when I hate something, I like trying to see it from a perspective that isn’t my own. I like diving in, fully experiencing it without preconceived notions. But obviously, I’m not the best source to suggest new things to myself. I have biases. I have likes. I am, no matter how much I try to avoid it, stuck in my ways.

So if it’s not too much trouble, I would appreciate some suggestions. Preferably music because it’s easier to listen to a song or three, than it is to read an entire book. But if you have suggestions for comic books, poetry, an essay, an entire album, movies, tv shows, and even books, I’m happy to check them out. I can promise to listen to the music, or read or watch something short, but if you suggest a book, that might not happen for a while (unless it really captures my imagination and I put it to the top of my 200+ book list).

Hopefully I get some responses. If you want me to review the thing you recommend in a separate post, I’m happy to do that. Or I can just comment back. If you just want to drop a suggestion off and forget about it, I can do that too. Whatever you want, I am willing.

I’d like to do this regularly, and even have a back and forth, with me suggesting things for anyone willing to participate. But for that to happen, I need responses. So I’m crossing my fingers. Thanks for reading either way.

Recommend a Song

10 thoughts on “Recommend a Song

  1. May I suggest music that isn’t new, but is really good and inspiring? Albums are the best for that purpose. Live at Leeds by The Who, Cheap Thrills by Big Brother and the Holding Company (Janis Joplin), Four Seasons by Vivaldi, Earl Scruggs Revue by Earl Scruggs. Music certainly inspires writing, and my collection of albums is diverse and far too long to list.

    1. I’ve heard a few of those, but I’ll definitely check out the rest. Thank you for the suggestions.
      Also, I wasn’t asking for newly released music, just new to me. So yours fit perfectly.

  2. Rolled Together by Antlers is a good dramatic driving song. Anything by The Black Keys, STRFKRS, and Alt-J are pretty fantastic as well but you have probably heard of them plenty on the radio.

    1. I’m being a bit slow on this, but I’ll definitely check out Antlers and Starfucker (I’ve heard the name, but never listened). The other two are definitely all over the place so I’ve heard them before.
      Thanks for the suggestions! I’m excited for those two.

  3. Book: Blink by Malcolm Gladwell

    Music: Logic (hip hop) or St. Lucia (Alternative) wish I had a dubstep artist I could list…ha.

    TV shows: The People vs OJ (new series but so tense!) or Seinfield (oldie but goodie)

    1. My professors didn’t like Gladwell and I sort of adopted that stance. Apparently he’s a good popularizer though. I’ve been meaning to check him out but with so many things already on the list it’s hard to get to something you aren’t super excited for.
      I’ll check out those bands for sure. And I’ve heard so many good things about that show. I don’t have cable though so I’ll have to wait for it to get to netflix or hulu!

Leave a Reply

