Pop Culture

There’s a good chance you’re cooler than me, but setting that aside for a minute, is there a time that you stopped paying attention to pop culture?

I like to stay abreast of what the world is talking about, from politics to celebrities, I think it’s somewhat important to have a foot in the happenings of the world, whether or not you put much stock in them.

That said, the last few years, I’ve realized how much distance I’ve lost on what’s current and cool. I feel so out of the loop and when I pop my head in the crack of the door to Trendyland, I’m at a loss for words.

Last week I wanted to catch up on the superhero movies I’ve missed, and realized there are approximately 77 I need to visit before the summer brings 83 more. I still need to see The Avengers 2, Guardians of the Galaxy, Thor 2, Captain America 2, Man of Steel, Ant-Man, (by all accounts I can skip) Fantastic Four, Days of Future Past, both newish Spider-Mans, and I’m sure I’m missing some.

I used to be really excited about all these things and count down the days to see movies. I went to Lord of the Rings midnight premiers and even saw a few midnight premiers of the prequels-that-must-not-be-named. It was just what I did, but at some point my mindset switched to, “I’ll get around to it.” And I never seem to. It’s like that weekend project that you’ll do next weekend.

Even music is moving too fast for me. I never listened to top 40 radio, but I was aware of Britney Spears, N*Sync, and the like. I would know when a new album was coming out and hear the single 7928 times a day. Now, I can’t hum a single Justin Bieber melody, but I’m still singing, “BYE BYE BYE!”

Is there just more of everything or did I get slow?

I was thinking that maybe my days of keeping up with pop culture are behind me. At some point I must have realized I’m not the target demographic anymore. The last time I felt like that was when I finally realized Rugrats was a little too little for me, which was a sad, sad day.

 

There were a number of years when I would think, Okay MTV, tell me what’s going on (that later changed to, come on internet, tell me what’s going on). I was a snotty little punk back then with an unreasonable, but not unwarranted, superiority complex going on, so I made fun of most of it, but I still was aware.

This all came about because I had to come to terms with the fact that the new Star Wars movie came out a month ago and I haven’t gotten around to seeing it yet. I SAW THE PREQUELS AT MIDNIGHT!!!!

Am I an out-of-touch grandpa?

Pop Culture

4 thoughts on “Pop Culture

  1. I wonder if perhaps the novelty of things wears off after a time.

    When you’re young, everything is shiny and new and you experience things for the first time, so naturally you fixate on those things and have the strongest memories of them.

    But eventually you realize that a lot of “new” pop culture is just the old stuff in a different package. Justin Bieber, Vanilla Ice–is there really a difference? One Direction, Backstreet Boys, New Kids on the Block, etc–different iterations of the same concept.

    Not keeping up with pop culture doesn’t make you an old grandpa; perhaps it means you’ve finally got enough loved experience under your belt to actually know a thing or two about what’s actually what.

    1. I agree with the music aspect of this. I never liked the top 40 music anyway, I just was able to keep up with what was popular, if only to make fun of it. Now my references are out of date when I talk about O-town.
      I’m not sure why I’m not totally stoked on comic book movies though. I loved Star Wars, not the prequels, and loves lord of the rings, not the hobbit, and read comic books. It all seems right up my alley but I’m drifting out of it. Just feels weird to notice when those parts of your personality/life noticeably shift.

Leave a Reply

