A Short Poem for my Niece

You think the whole world exists only for you,
And that’s kind of beautiful,
In the innocence that accompanies your view,
But also dangerous,
When extended too far,
For too long,
And the wonder from your eyes is taken,
By the overarching themes that have been presented,
To you and to me,
When we fall too quickly for stories,
And narratives shape our thoughts for us.
I think you can grow still,
But hold that tiny glow that has abandoned me.
You can find the right way to live.

A Short Poem for my Niece

Leave a Reply

