The Worst of 2015

Alright, like with Adele, I haven’t heard this album, but my position would probably remain the same if I did hear it. I have to once again say that I don’t understand the majority of popular music. I get One Direction, and Katy Perry (not hard, that one), but the appeal of Miley Cyrus is beyond me. Oh the crazy life of millionaires. Do we care because it gives us a taste of what it would be like to be that rich and have so few responsibilities?

Anyway…

I feel responsible to finish this series of posts on music from my year. I’m almost positive no one has read it, though, if you have, thank you very much, I only wish I could return the favor (and silently judge your musical taste HA!).

I haven’t listened to anything this year, on purpose, that I’ve hated. Therefore, to call this a worst of the year list is somewhat disingenuous and I will re-title this,

2015: Disappointing Records That Were Still Relatively Good, Though, Possibly, Simply, Not as Good as I Expected Them to be, Which, Admittedly, is my Own Fault:

(Obviously a terrible title for a blog post)

1. Refused – Freedom

I feel a bit bad putting this album on this list because there was probably nothing Refused could release that would equal their last album in my eyes, ears, heart, and life. Refused released The Shape of Punk to Come in 1998, then broke up. Over the years they grew a huge fan base they never had while an active band. Then they reunited to play a few shows. The communists made some money, then decided to record an album. This rubbed some people the wrong way. I didn’t and don’t care. The album is pretty good. It could never reach The Shape of Punk but that’s my fault.

2. Sorority Noise – Joy, Departed

This album is one of few that actually let me down. They released three or so songs before the album came out and I loved each one. There were two just awesomely fun pop-punk-rock songs and then one heavier, grunge-y song about depression that was equally great. Then the album came out and there are so many slow songs. They aren’t necessarily bad but the album drags so much and, more to the point, let me down. I was excited for a good, fun/serious, almost early Saves the Day style pop-punk-emo. I haven’t heard much of that style for a long time. So maybe it was all expectation.

3. And So I Watch You From Afar

I always enjoy ASIWYFA albums. There aren’t many instrumental bands I can listen to from start to finish, but they are one of them, until this album. I’m not sure what it was that I didn’t like. Some of the songs shred but some fall short for some reason.

 

 

 

Honorable Mentions (Left Off The Best of List for Little or No Reason):

Doomtree – All Hands

Again, slightly inconsistent for me. Not that any part is bad, just doesn’t resonate with me.

Mouse on the keys – The Flowers of Romance

Jazz fusion indie rock from Japan. Haven’t heard enough of it to jump fulling on-board.

Icky Blossoms – Mask

Fun dancey music that I can dig in short bursts. That’s simply personal preference, though, not a comment on the songs/song writing/talent.

Diamond Youth – Nothing Matters

Another that I’m a big fan of but haven’t listened to enough to call it a best of the year. Fuzzy guitars, rock and roll, goodness. (old music video, but I love it)

Tiny Moving Parts – Pleasant Living

Love the technical aspects of this band. I can see their next album being really, really good. Fingers crossed.

The Worst of 2015

Leave a Reply

