Hello? (and Book Recommendations)

This is going to be vague, but someone posted a blog about buying some new books that involved Haruki Murakami and some others. One of the other books sounded really interesting and I had planned on checking it out but by the time I got around to searching for it, I couldn’t remember the name of the book or the author. If the person who wrote that blog happens to see this and remind me of the book/author, I would very much appreciate it.

I don’t normally post blogs like this and realize it’s a long shot but hey, why not try. (Do you put a question mark at the end of a rhetorical question?)

And so not to waste everyone else’s time entirely, I thought I’d ask for more book recommendations. I plan on picking a few up over the weekend, or Monday, and am open to input. For a reference point, I enjoy pop-science books. The Ego Tunnel, about our sense of self, Rethinking Positive Thinking, about happiness, and Moral Tribes, about morality and some deficits, are three that stand out. As for fiction, I enjoyed Cathedral by Raymond Carver, Stardust by Neil Gaiman and Like Life by Lorrie Moore, recently. If that helps at all, use that information. If it doesn’t help, just name a few favorites and I’ll look into them.

 

Thanks, sorry, bye.

Hello? (and Book Recommendations)

4 thoughts on “Hello? (and Book Recommendations)

  1. I’m currently reading “Plastic Ocean” by Charles Moore. It’s very interesting.

    I also have a book by David Hand called: “The improbability principle: why coincidences, miracles, and rare events happen every day.” I haven’t started that one yet, but it looks very intriguing.

    Fiction wise, I recently read “The Martian” and found it to be an incredible book. I’ve always liked Flannery O’Connor’s short stories.

    1. Thanks. Plastic Ocean sounds good. It’s something I know very little about too. The Improbability Principle sounds a bit like The Black Swan, which I enjoyed, so I’ll have to look into it.
      I’ve been seeing The Martian around a lot lately, I hadn’t heard much about it besides that it’s becoming a movie. Thanks for forcing me to go look it up. It sounds awesome.

    1. Thanks for the recommendation. I read your review and it makes the book sound very appealing. I have seen the movie, though, so I’m a little worried about that aspect. Either way, it’s one I will look into for sure.
      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

