More Questions

I almost couldn’t remember where I left off last time even though the last time I wrote doesn’t seem like too long ago. Anyway, for the newcomers, this is a series of questions you can run through with another person to apparently form a strong bond (maybe love?). I went through some with friends prior to answering them here and it was actually quite revealing. I learned more about people I’ve known for over 10 years, which is impressive.

7. Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?

(Not getting too supernatural here since I don’t believe in any of that.) I think the odds are my death will be boring. Heart disease or something along those lines. But the ways I worry about are all way more fun to talk about. Like random accidents. A plane crashing into my apartment. A car accident could be it. The numbers are decent for that one. So, if I had to pick a more interesting “hunch,” I’d go with car accident. Scares the hell out of me, too.

8. Name three things you and your partner appear to have in common.

Okay, so this one should be done with the person you’re sitting across drinking coffee. I’ll do a hypothetical person that I think I would be drawn towards. 1. Skeptical: this can take a million forms, but there’s not much I like more than someone willing to question everything, including their own thoughts and beliefs. 2. Music fan: With a bend toward independent music. If she loves Saves the Day or Cursive, I will marry her on the spot. 3. Doesn’t read Young Adult novels. Sorry to the fans out there. It’s just the literary equivalent of trashy soap-operas. I can’t handle it.

9. For what in life are you most grateful?

This is an incredibly tough one. I suppose I’m most grateful for historical accidents. The way the history unfolded resulted in me being born in a wealthy country to middle class parents (could have been better, I guess). Those two things alone gave me an unimaginably unfair advantage on much of the world in terms of healthy, safety, and well-being in general. It’s allowed me to be primarily concerned with dreams and inner desires. I have luxuries not many people can claim because of those accidents.

10. If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?

Oh, boy. I’ll take it to mean, a single thing. I’ll also take it to mean, a method/behavior rather than “I would change my father to Kurt Vonnegut.” or something like that. And if I’m using those guidelines, I’d say, in retrospect, I wish my parents made me stick with certain things longer. This is a double-edged sword situation. The more they forced me the less I would have liked it, and maybe I would have never improved. But looking back, I wish I took music lessons for longer. Wish I took singing lessons. Wish I learned other languages. The problem with hypotheticals is that it might not work at all. I would have resisted, as I did in reality, and might not have tried hard enough to get better. Those are just a few things I look back on and wish I stuck with.

11. Take four minutes, and tell your partner your life story in as much detail as possible.

Next time.

 

Have a nice day, and if you’d like to answer the questions yourself, they are right here-ish https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/open-gently/201310/36-questions-bring-you-closer-together

More Questions

One thought on “More Questions

Leave a Reply

