Feminist

image

So, Kaley Cuoco, from the Big Bang Theory, is not a feminist. I don’t know how I should feel about this. On one hand, I don’t really care about the thoughts of celebrities. On the other, I understand their influence and projecting such a thorough lack of understanding to the millions of people who like her and her tv show is upsetting. She says “I was never a feminist girl demanding equality, but maybe that’s because I’ve never really faced inequality.” I know you don’t need to pass any tests to be an actor but it’s just bad. I don’t need to be a woman to be a feminist. I have this thing called empathy. I also have this thing called theory of mind. Meaning I can sort of understand what other people think and how other people feel. So I don’t need to be punched in the face to realize being punched in the face sucks. I don’t need to be a mother to support mothers. I don’t need to be a cat to hate animal cruelty. For goodness sake.

She also said she likes to serve her man. Fine. You can love to serve your man and be a feminist. (Although serve is sort of a gross word, I get the point.) But therein lies the problem. This misunderstanding that if you want to have any “traditional” feminine characteristics, you can’t be a feminist. That’s not how it works. There are subsets of feminists just like there are subsets of everything else. You can be a republican but not a tea partier. You can be a feminist and not a lesbian! (GASP!) It is simply about equality. Same rights. Same respect. Same opportunities. To reach a future where girls don’t get weird looks in a science class. And aren’t made fun of for liking sports. And maybe be high ranking business people (if anyone wants that. eww). You don’t have to experience these things yourself to know that they go on. The whole point of feminism is to support people who have to live with these injustices. And to prevent any weird sexist accusations… you can be a feminist and a humanist. You can support women and men and black and white and American Indian and gay and straight and on and on and on.

So, there’s another rant that doesn’t do much of anything. But maybe I feel better for it.

Feminist

2 thoughts on “Feminist

  1. Nowadays “feminist” is often used to refer to someone that is harsh and hates men with no distinction and no reason, so I do not consider myself a feminist. But if by feminist we mean someone that believes in women and hates male chauvinism and demands same rights and respecf then I am definitely one, therefore: high five to the post and to you !!!

    1. But who decided that a feminist is man hating? That definition doesn’t even begin to make sense when you realize men can be feminists, too. Unless you want to suggest that those men are self hating, and want to lower themselves and their sex.
      I just think that propagating that version of a feminist is meant to divide those who generally agree on equality.

Leave a Reply

