Places to Go

I don’t care much for traveling. When I have days off I prefer to go hiking someplace nearby. Take a weekend trip up north and see Crater Lake or Mount Lassen. Go south, get lost and almost die in the Mojave Desert. There are a whole lot of places in or around my own state that I’d love to visit. Truth is, I’ll probably never make it to most. I’ve been to a fair number of state/national parks and have barely left home to do it. I’ve been to small islands (with no residents on them besides rangers), forests, deserts, mountains, you name it. And I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Airplanes and complicated arrangements make travel more of a hassle than I care to deal with while on vacation. I like jumping in my car with a bag and driving, possibly with a friend or two. I enjoy making massive playlists to listen to on the way. It’s simple and I’m in control of everything. The hardest bit is checking into a hotel. I don’t have to get a ride to an airport or arrive stupidly early. I don’t get have to be  frisked. I don’t have to worry if I have a pointed-tip rock hammer in my bag, or pepper-spray. I don’t have to worry if my camera is being smashed in the overhead compartment or, even worse, baggage compartments. I don’t have to worry about my bag ending up in another state (does this still happen or is this a dated complaint?).

That said, staying around California is limiting. There are things in the world that don’t exist here and I would like to see them. There are usually reasons I want to go beyond them being interesting places or beautiful. Some are stupid reasons, but I’m okay with that.

Here are 5 of the places I’d like to visit someday (in no order).

1. Germany (Dresden, Munich, Heidelberg)

dresden

This is a strangish one. For no real reason I know of, I love Germany. I wanted to be German when I was little. I wanted to move there. Live there. I wanted to be German. The only thing I can think of is I wanted to be a professional footballer, and I really liked Germany’s team. Somehow that sparked a lifelong interest in the place though. I’d like to go to Heidelberg because I’ve heard nice things. I want to go to Munich to see Bayern Munich play. I want to go to Dresden because of Kurt Vonnegut. He was there when it was firebombed. He’s my tied-for-first favorite author. I’ve read that it’s been built up to be beautiful again. It may not be the same as when Vonnegut described it, but I want to see a piece of what he saw.

2. Iceland

Iceland-Volcano-Christoper-Lund-3

I’ve wanted to go to Iceland for a long time as well. From personal experience, the interest in this place has been increasing over the last few years. I used to get funny looks when I said I wanted to go, but not lately. It seems pretty beautiful, first of all. But I want to go to see the… mid-Atlantic Ridge! It’s also well known for its geothermal energy due to its insane geologic activity. Many, many, many of my classes would refer to Iceland for one reason or another. That’s what happens when you study geology.

3. Galapagos

Pretty straight forward. Darwin is a hero of mine and the Galapagos are incredibly awesome. The endemic animals are well known. Marine iguanas and everyone’s favorite finches. The blue-footed booby is not endemic, but it is wonderful. I’d love to be involved in some sort of science expedition out there so I don’t have to go on a tourist-y trip. Plus, inhabiting the islands are killing them and I don’t want to support that. Getting more access and doing no harm would be ideal. Tortoises love the views.

4. Australia (Shark Bay)

Australia is supposed to be a great place to visit but more than anything I’d like to see the stromatolites. Cyanobacteria are among the earliest living things. The ones in Shark Bay aren’t 3 billion years old, but a few thousand isn’t bad. It’s a place I think will be inspirational for me. Connect my cells to history. Pretty neat. I’m sure there are sharks there, too.

5. Central Suriname Nature Reserve (and Kaieteur Falls)

Supposedly one of the most impressive parks in the world. A tropical rainforest would be incredible to see and this is one of the best. Plus granite monoliths? I’m into it. Kaieteur Falls is way bigger than Niagara Falls. Just needs a Marilyn Monroe movie.

keiteur falls

 

 

 

if any of these pictures are yours and you want them to be removed or be cited, let me know. I’ve had most of these pictures for a while, and don’t remember where they came from. Sorry.

Places to Go

Leave a Reply

